International LGBTQ Psychology Pre-Conference at ICAP 2018

The 2018 CPA Annual Convention was held in conjunction with the 2018 International Congress of Applied Psychology. In addition to this International Gathering of Psychologists and Psychological Researchers, SOGII hosted an International LGBTQ Psychology Pre-Conference Convention on June 24th and 25th, 2018. This two-day event brought together the leading LGBTQ Psychology Researchers from across the globe to share advances relevant to moving LGBTQ Psychology research forward. More than 115 delegates attended the conference from 79 different cities around the world - spread out across more than 20 countries! Two full days of programming were presented by researchers at all career stages from undergraduates to tenured research chairs. To learn more about what was presented look up the #Preach2018 hashtag on Twitter or visit our OSF Meetings page (if you presented at the conference and would like to add your presentation documents to the OSF page, you can continue to do so at any time - just visit the page for more instructions). If you are interested in submitting your work to one of the two special issues related to #Preach2018, please click here to learn more. 

We look forward to welcoming you to #Preach2020 in Prague at the end of July 2020! More details can be found on the Preach2020 page, listed under the Conferences menu.


Keynote Speakers

Dr. Sari van Anders, University of Michigan

Sari brick wall.jpg

Dr. Sari van Anders is Associate Professor of Psychology and Women’s Studies at the University of Michigan, and is affiliated with Science, Technology, and Society as well as Neuroscience. Dr. van Anders’ research sets out new ways to conceptualize, understand, and map gender/sex, sexual diversity, and sexuality, and also provides unique tools and theories for feminist and queer bioscience, focusing on social neuroendocrinology. Dr. van Anders' scholarship has been recognized with awards such as the 2016 Distinguished Publication Award from the Association for Women in Psychology, the 2012 Ira and Harriet Reiss Theory Award from the Foundation for the Scientific Study of Sexuality, the 2013 Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions from APS, and Dr. van Anders has been named a “Scientist to Watch” by The Scientist. Dr. van Anders is Editor of the Annual Review of Sex Research, Associate Editor of Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity as well as Sexual and Relationship Therapy, and has been recognized with the 2016 Committee on Women in Psychology Leadership Award from APA.

Dr. Carlos Santos, Arizona State University


Dr. Carlos Santos is an Assistant Professor at Arizona State University in Counseling Psychology. He received his Ph.D. and B.A. from New York University and a masters degree from Harvard. Dr. Santos was recently awarded Emerging Professionals Contributions to Research Award from the Society for the Psychological Study of Culture, Ethnicity, and Race, a division of the APA. He was among the graduate students who attended the International LGBT Psychology Summer Institute at the University of Michigan in 2008. Drawing on intersectionality perspectives that underscore the ways in which systems of oppression (e.g., heterosexism and racism) overlap and influence individual outcomes, Dr. Santos will highlight findings from his research conducted with individuals who identify as both, as a member of a racial/ethnic minority group as well as a member of a sexual minority group. Dr. Santos is a co-editor of Studying Ethnic Identity: Methodological and Conceptual Approaches Across Disciplines.

Scientific Committee
Karen L. Blair - St. Francis Xavier University - Canada - Program Chair & Host
Daragh McDermott - Anglia Ruskin University - UK
Todd Morrison - University of Saskatchewan - Canada
Lisa M. Diamond - University of Utah - USA
Eric Julian Manalastas - University of the Philippines
Lisa Couperthwaite - University of Toronto - Canada
Jeffery Adams - Massey University - New Zealand
Alexander Moreno - UQAM - Quebec, Canada
Rhea Ashley Hoskin - Queen's University - Canada
Devan Kronisch - University of Victoria - Canada
Ashleigh Yule - University of Calgary - Canada

IPsyNet Programming Committee Members:
Julie Koch - Oklahoma State University - USA
Dagoberto Heredia Jr. - Texas A&M University - USA
Sharon G. Horne - University of Massachusetts Boston - USA
Roberto L. Abreu - University of Kentucky - USA
Joseph Roy Gillis - University of Toronto (OISE) - Canada
Clinton W. Anderson - APA & IPsyNet - USA

Important Dates

Preaching To The Choir 2.png